Big Bears Cry Too

Big Bears Cry Too is a performance that deals with the vulnerability that people experience in this large and incomprehensible universe. A series of objects literally fly onto the stage, each with something to say about individuality in the world. There is a large – a too large – plastic heart that can only be restricted by letting a small amount of air out. Then there is a massive pill that is supposed to make you happier, but the actual result is that you no longer recognize yourself. And then there is a bear that falls victim to its own excessive cuteness. We end up in a universe of coloured rain and never-ending symbols.

Springville, Dragging the Bone, Mystery Magnet, Fruits of Labor _– each one an intriguing title of an equally intriguing show that was successfully unleashed upon the world in the last 15 years by artist and dramatist Miet Warlop. This production, _Big Bears Cry Too, marks her first production for an audience of six years and older.

Concept and Direction: Miet Warlop
Performers: Wietse Tanghe / Christian Bakalov
Music and Lyrics: Pieter De Meester, Joppe Tanghe, Wietse Tanghe, Miet Warlop
Technical Team: Mathias Batsleer, Frouke Van Gheluwe, Seppe Janssens, Johannes Vochten, Johan Vandenborn
Light Design: Henri Emmanuel Doublier
Assisted by: Lila John, Karolien Nuyttens, Barbara Vackier, Ian Gyselinck, Geert Viaene (Amotec), Mathias Huybrighs
Outside Eye: Danai Anesiadou

Production and Technical Realisation: Miet Warlop / Irene Wool vzw (Ghent) and hetpaleis (Antwerpen)
Management and Coordination: Wim Viaene, Elke Vanlerberghe
Co-production: Arts Centre Vooruit (Ghent), Gessnerallee Zürich (CH), Luzerner Theater (CH),
TJP Centre Dramatique National Strasbourg(FR), AUAWIRLEBEN Theaterfestival Bern (CH)

With the Support of: Flemish Authorities, City of Ghent, Kunstencentrum BUDA (Kortrijk)

Thanks to: Jonas De Meester, Koen Demeyere, Marie Jeanne Symons, Bram Coeman, Koen Jansen,
Maarten Van Cauwenberghe, Emma Van Roey, Michiel Goedertier (La Roy NV), Sparks FX, Seppe Cosyns, Hugh Roche Kelly

© Reinout Hiel
© Reinout Hiel
© Reinout Hiel
© Reinout Hiel